knitbakecraft

Rose cake

I’ve been wanting to try this for a very long time. It seemed to fit very well into the principle of ‘minimum effort, maximum effect’. I whipped up my favourite vanilla buttermilk cake (thanks Nigella) and while it was cooling, got on with a nice batch of vanilla swiss meringue buttercream. My red food gel make the icing rather a violent pink to begin with so I toned it down to a nice dusky pink by adding some brown. After a crumb coat, it just needed some rosette swirls to finish it off.

_DSC0134

A great go- to design idea for when you need something to look (and taste) good but haven’t the time for anything too fussy.

This entry was published on May 29, 2014 at 2:18 pm and is filed under bake. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Rose cake

  1. This is soo pretty and I love the colour

  2. Thanks. I thought I mellow pink suited the style of it!

Leave a Reply

